top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWestCoast SwimRun

Battle in Seattle

Seward park, only a short drive south of downtown Seattle, was a perfect venue for Quest Races’ second Swimrun event of the season. With run courses winding along mixed-use trail through thick forest and swims criss-crossing the clear waters of lake Washington over short and long course events.



After a steep learning curve racing the men’s team event in the Bellingham SwimRun I was keen to test a new approach in the solo division. In addition to paddles, goggles, cap, and pullbuoy I was accompanied by a New Wave safety float - mandatory kit for solo contestants.



Changing my pull buoy rig from a thigh strap to a hip belt was a major change to my setup and made transition and running comfort better by leagues. If you’re new to Swimrun - this is the only way I recommend you do it. The safety float perched on top of the buoy at my hip for the runs but I will test a more unified strapping setup between float and buoy if I get to race solo again.


I took the opportunity to lift my pacing in this event and met a different field of competitors which, despite higher paces and intensity, shared the same camaraderie and good nature I’d found so inviting in Bellingham. A runner tripped on a root in the longest run and every member of the lead group checked on their well-being before carrying on (it was just a flesh wound).



Any event, but especially a first event, is always subject to the unexpected. A trail sign went missing sometime between being set in the morning and the race being run which caused some navigation trouble but Quest Races did everything possible to put it right and give all racers a memorable day.



I want to thank Race director Brent Molsberry for my experiences at both the Bellingham and Seattle Swimrun which have only invigorated my passion for this new breed of multisport competition. I look forward to competing in them both again in 2020.


in-race highlights can be found @westcoastswimrun on Instagram, event media by Katie Huffman and event results will be posted at: www.questracing.com/seattle-swimrun




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page