top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWestCoast SwimRun

Going Primal - Soldiers and Supermen

Updated: Sep 4, 2019

After a week and a half of meetings, new networks and training opportunities in Stockholm my trip was wrapping up. It was time to move on and I was already looking forward to returning someday soon. 



Following my training session with Envol and a short transit to central station I turned in on the bunk of a sleeper train and headed south. 5 hrs later I rolled out of bed and stepped off the train, my gear bag still dripping Stockholm lake-water. I had come to meet with members of Primalcoaching, a collection of high-level swimrunners under the leadership of longtime Swedish sports elite Andre Falt in Helsingborg. 




Despite the short sleep I felt well enough.  I met my first host at the bus stop on the outskirts of town, Swedish Naval officer and top-ranked swimrunner Kenny Meijer, who kindly fixed me a quick Swedish breakfast as his longtime neighbour and training partner Matthias arrived to join the session. I was given the largest pullbuoy I had ever seen and we headed off. 


With a race pending in two days our session was a relaxed 90minutes of swimrun. The loop course took us along a mixed running route of rocky/sandy shoreline, flat road and steep trail around 500m open-water swim repeats. We set to the task and fell into step, strides light and efficient. Through the session and regardless of terrain, body language and effort never changed - at what was a respectable pace for most their effort was genuinely easy, the polishing strokes of a much larger and more rigorous preparation process. The most important difference in this session compared to previous outings was its emphasis on quick, precise transitions between land and sea.  Crossing the waters edge in either direction meant being fully prepared for the next task - either  at a run or diving straight into first strokes. Failing to do so put you behind someone who did. Coming from sprint tri I understood the concept but fumbling with my paddles, goggles, cap, camera and a monstrous wedge of foam that refused to stay in place I dropped behind at every entry and exit. I’d come to see “top-level swimrun” and at each transition, were it not for their patience with my struggles I’d have quickly been training alone! 



Returning home, I excused myself for a quick nap. When I woke (FOUR HOURS LATER) Coach Andre was arriving for the days second session. What followed was three hours of intense discussion on training methodology, human athletic potential, technical and strategic factors of performance all framed around the history, present and future of Ötillö. 

After two years working on my freestyle stroke and two weeks seeing how paddles and a pullbuoy eliminated most, if not all, of my advantage in the water. I had taken some solace in thinking this playing field was “level” at least. Watching Coach Falt cut wake down the lane on customized paddles and flotation left no doubt as to why he is considered one of the strongest swimmers in the sport and that, for an open water swimmer like myself, the playing field isn’t level at all, not by a long shot. 




His approach to training is logical: advocating equipped, sport-specific swim training and eschewing traditional pool training methods. Beyond a unique approach to swim training his athletes are supported by individualized training plan suiting their disposition, strengths and level.  In an industry where pre- and computer-made plans are the norm, his programs are case-by-case and the result of decades of experience. The results of his teams speak for themselves. 


The final training stop on my trip took me a short ways north to Halmstad and after a short delay I met with my last Primalcoaching contact - swimrun newcomer Jonna Hedbys. Military officer, triathlete, runner, and model - she had been recommended to swimrun by fellow officer and teammate Kenny and taken underwing by Coach Falt. Still new in the sport she is rapidly earning accolades with multiple podium finishes.  A reserve teammate for Saturdays race and under strict instruction from Kenny to keep our pace moderate. We divided our day into a light seaside trail run and a pool swim. 


At conversational pace we wound along the coast, reminding ourselves to hold the effort down once or twice... per kilometre. 



After that we hit the pool and Jonna, equipped with the same massive paddles and pullbuoy as her teammates, showed the same strong swimming technique I’d seen the day before from Kenny, Matthias and Andre.



Held to lower volume and intensity our swim was only a fun recovery session but the hallmarks of a strong, consistent athlete were unmistakable. Jonna genuinely loves to compete and be challenged. Not being permitted to race (and beat) me in our sessions was a visible frustration and I know there will be a reckoning when we train together again. I am looking forward to it. 


I’ve been back from Sweden for over a month now, all four athletes have seen swimrun podium finishes in that time including a course record result for a mixed team of Kenny and Jonna. 


My sessions with both Envol and Primalcoaching highlighted that overcoming the gap between myself and an Ötillö swimrun podium is not something I can take lightly. The swimrun elite are exactly that, elite, and to even come close I'll be pushing all of my limits for the next year and beyond. Time to get to work.


Primalcoaching and Coach Andre can be contacted through his Website and Instagram


Athlete Contact



72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page